join donate discuss

Hundreds Take to the Streets to Demand Scrapping of Incinerator Plans

Stroud Greens joined hundreds of protestors on the streets of Stroud today, furious at Eric Pickles’ decision to over-ride GCC’s planning decision, effectively giving the go-ahead for a giant waste incinerator at Javelin park.Incinerator Demo

This is a massive set-back for the anti-incinerator group GlosVAIN, and for Sarah Lunnon, the lone Green County Councillor, who has fought tirelessly against the scheme for more than 6 years. Shamefully, the County Council has refused to supply the figures used to justify the scheme; but all the evidence is that it makes no sense, either financially or environmentally, when stacked up against more modern and innovative waste treatment systems such as MBT (Mechanical and Biological Treatment).

SDGP at the Incinerator DemoWhile the planning battle has been lost, it is not too late to demand that the council listens to the views of its electorate and scraps these plans. Please sign GlosVAIN’s online petition, persuade your friends to do so, and contact your own county councillor to express your views. You can find out details of how to do this here.

It’s worth noting that all the Conservative County Councillors have consistently voted as a block in favour of this incinerator. Young Greens at the DemoIf your councillor was one of those listed below, and you feel strongly about this decision, we suggest contacting them and explaining why continuing to support this project won’t be winning them any votes:

Cllr Phil Awford (Highnam)
Cllr Dorcas Binns (Nailsworth)
Cllr Robert Bird (Bishop’s Cleeve)
Cllr Anthony Blackburn (Hardwicke and Severn)
Cllr Jason Bullingham (Bisley and Painswick)
Cllr Andrew Gravells (Abbey)
Cllr Tim Harman (Lansdown and Park)
Cllr Mark Hawthorne (Quedgeley)
Cllr Anthony Hicks (Tetbury)
Cllr Paul McLain (Battledown and Charlton Kings)
Cllr Patrick Molyneux (Sedbury)
Cllr Nigel Moor (Stow-on-the-Wold)
Cllr Shaun Parsons (South Cerney)
Cllr Brian Robinson (Mitcheldean)
Cllr Vernon Smith (Tewkesbury East)
Cllr Lynden Stowe (Campden-Vale)
Cllr Ray Theodoulou (Fairford and Lechlade on Thames)
Cllr Brian Tipper (Cam Valley)
Cllr Pam Tracey (Hempsted and Westgate)
Cllr Robert Vines (Brockworth)
Cllr Stan Waddington (Minchinhampton)
Cllr Kathy Williams (Longlevens)
Cllr Roger Wilson (Winchcombe and Woodmancote)
Cllr Will Windsor-Clive (Newent)

Furthermore, if you live in one of those constituencies and you haven’t bothered voting in a County Council election yet, perhaps you’d consider joining us in our efforts to kick them out at the ballot box next time.