On this page we present those local Green Party people who have been elected to represent you at District, County and European level.  To find contact details for party officers, please go to the contacts page.  To find out more about candidates standing in upcoming elections, please go to the elections page.

European Parliament

Molly Scott Cato

On May 22nd 2014, Stroud's own Molly Scott Cato was elected as the first Green MEP for the South West.

Before taking on this full-time position as our MEP, Molly was a professor of economics at Roehampton University and has written a number of books on Green Economics. Molly has been involved with Transition Stroud for a number of years, concerned with community agriculture and the local economy. She is a leading figure in the green movement and has a clear vision for constructive engagement in Europe.

Find out more on Molly's web site, and follow her on Twitter.


Gloucestershire County Council

Rachel SmithRachel Smith - Minchinhampton Division

Rachel was elected in May 2017 to represent the Minchinhampton County Council Division. Rachel is a qualified Music Therapist specialising in work with older adults and people living with dementia. 

Rachel is a member of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee, Environment and Communities Scrutiny Committee and Constitution Committee. She is committed to working on sustainable and accessible transport for all, and has a focus on transparency and open contracting.

Eva Ward

Eva Ward - Stroud Central 

Eva Ward was elected in May 2017, taking over from Sarah Lunnon, who served two terms as Stroud's first Green County Councillor. 

Eva has lived in Stroud since 1974, working as a social worker for Gloucestershire County Council for 28 years. She is a member of Health and Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee and is working to explore innovative ways of working with the local community to meet the needs of older people, those with additional needs and young families struggling to afford housing.

Stroud District Council

On Stroud District Council we have a "Green Group" consisting of 9 Green Party councillors.  Working together, this group is big enough to have a strong influence on council decisions.

Martin BaxendaleMartin Baxendale - Valley Ward

Martin was elected on August 7th 2014 in a by-election to replace Green Councillor Molly Scott Cato after she was elected as MEP for the South West.  Martin's main priority in office will be to protect the Slad valley from inappropriate development.  He is committed to opposing plans for large-scale development on Baxters Fields.  He also plans to work with Green County Councillor Sarah Lunnon to push forward a sustainable drainage project to reduce flooding risk, and to make our roads safer.

Jonathan EdmundsJonathan Edmunds - Whiteshill, Ruscombe and Randwick Ward

Jonathan was elected in May 2014 to replace Green councillor Philip Booth who represented the ward for the previous 8 years.  Jonathan works as a sports development officer and has young children at Randwick school.  He plans to continue Philip's work on reducing traffic speeds, and protecting green spaces and local ameneties.

Martin WhitesideMartin Whiteside - Brimscombe and Thrupp Ward

Martin serves on the Development Control Committee on Stroud District Council.
He works as an independent Environment and Development Consultant. Working mainly on African and Asian development projects, Martin focuses on rural development, agriculture, environment, climate change, monitoring and evaluation. He has a wide range of experience in NGO, bilateral and multilateral programmes.

John MarjoramJohn Marjoram - Trinity Ward

 A Stroud District Councillor for 28 years, John is Deputy Leader of the Green and Independent Green Group of councillors on Stroud District Council. He serves as Vice Chair of the Development Control Committee on Stroud District Council.
John is also Deputy Mayor of Stroud Town Council and is active in the Stroud Peace Movement.
He is a member of the Steering Committee of the National Association of Green Councillors.

Simon PickeringSimon Pickering - Slade Ward

Simon is Chair of the Environment Committee of Stroud District Council and is thus an automatic member of the Strategy and Resources Committee.
Simon is the Senior Ecologist for Ecotricity, where his role is to ensure that renewable energy projects are built where they don't harm wildlife.  He is also one of the faces of wind energy - promoting careers in the renewables industry.

Norman KayNorman Kay - Nailsworth Ward

Norman was elected as a District Councillor in May 2016, and is also a Nailsworth Town Councillor.  He has lived in Nailsworth for 35 years, and keeps a small flock of rare breed Cotswold and llanwenog sheep.  He is especially interested in planning matters and in the encouragement, where possible, of social housing.

Catherine BraunCatherine Braun - Wotton Under Edge

Catherine was elected in May 2016.  Following law studies at Sussex and Strasbourg universities, she worked on green issues in Westminster and Brussels, and now works in Bristol on environmental and business management.  As a district councillor she will work to champion Wotton issues, including facilities for younger and older people, improving our community networks, local environment, and public transport service.

Jim DeweyJim Dewey - Coaley and Uley Ward

Jim was elected in May 2016.  He has lived in Uley for 30 years and is very active in the local community, having been Chair of the local school PTA, coaching the under 13s cricket team, and recently singing in the choir.  As a district councillor he will work to support local services and village amenities, campaign against damaging planning decisions, and reduce our carbon footprint.

Karen McKeownKaren McKeown - Rodborough Ward
Karen McKeown was elected as a councillor for Rodborough in May 2016 and joined the Green Party in 2018. Her experience includes chairing Rodborough Parish Council and working as a senior manager within children’s social care.  She has worked as a probation officer and an HMI, inspecting local authorities. Karen is also a member of the Clifton Diocesan Safeguarding Commission which monitors safeguarding practice within the Catholic Church. Karen is strongly committed to social justice and chairs the Mid-Gloucestershire group of Amnesty International.